That’s boring

It seems like I haven’t written anything forever. Oh well, I’m back now.

I had the loneliest Eid in my 22 years of life. Granted, my last 7 or 8 years of Eid have been pretty dull, but this year was the worst. Unlike Eid-ul-Fitr (which I was down with the Flu), I managed to wake up early and pray this Eid, but as soon as I got home, the loneliness hit me because most of my family went to VA for a last minute wedding. No kids running around, no Eid sweets, and definitely no feast. By the way, who the hell holds their wedding on EID? Somalis never stop amazing me.

I realized that Eid is no fun without kids. Kids really make Eid enjoyable for everyone.I can only sit here and remember my younger days when we hustled adults for money, played with balloons, and went to the movies in the middle of the day. Well, as they say here, ‘those were the good old days.’

And as for the new year, I have no grandeur goals to accomplish. Just stick to what I have been doing. I can only hope that the world will be a better place than it was in 2006. And maybe, just maybe, all the troubled places like Darfur and Somalia will get some kind of lasting peace.

Although I feel bad for the people in the afterlife as they had couple of evil dictators (Saddam and Pinochet) joined them at the end of the year.

P.S. Happy belated Ciid Wanaagsan/Eid Mubarak to all my fellow bloggers. I hope you guys had a better Eid than I did.

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “That’s boring

  1. Aya

    Om,

    True, eid without kids is just not celebratory. Sorry to hear about your lonely Eid. I spent mine in flight and missed my mother’s special cambabur and other delights. This in itself is becoming a tradition of sorts. I’ve thrown in the towel with Somali weddings after I was invited to one on a New Year’s eve. Nomads really are a wonder.

    Let’s hope that the year truly lifts the misery of people everywhere. Good luck with your 2007 and happy New Year!

  2. muslimah

    I don’t go to weddings much but I don’t get it? what’s wrong with a wedding on New years or Eid. What better time to celebrate?..

    It’s everyone for themselves in the afterlife…..Saddam or Pinochet aint gonna make no difference there!

  3. Om

    Aya, Do you know how many weddings I’ve been to in my entire life? One! Since then, I’ve had phobia about weddings, not just Somali ones. I wonder if I’ll have one; just the thought of sitting there and feeling a miserable makes me sweat.

    Happy New Year to you as well, and oh yeah, don’t forget about that commitment we made!

    Muslimah, I don’t care whether Muslims hold weddings on Jan. 1, but Eid is a special Holy Day for Muslims and people should only celebrate Eid only on Eid day since Eid occurs only twice in each year. Again, this is my opinion, and I don’t know whether the Sharia is against it or not. Basically, Eid is a special day for me and I’d only celebrate Eid on Eid day.

  4. wasmaniac

    Lots and lots of people hold their weddings on Eid these days. I think pple belive since eid is a blessed day, then the marriage is blessed.

  5. Amirah

    I have never heard of muslims having their weddings on eid or new years its a first for me.

    anywho, a very belated eid mubarak to you all.Hope you all had a great day, bro om insha’allah next eid will be better for you. i got the kamal uddin vidz from youtube, just type his name into the search engine and you should loads of vid there insha’allah.
    ma’salam

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

