Refugees Find Hostility and Hope on Soccer Field – New York Times

I found this story in the New York Times about refugee kids finding hope and solidarity in the football pitch in Georgia. I’m so happy the New York Times did this because the publicity will help them tremendously. I’m rooting for them all the way because I share some of their experience as well, especially the story of Jeremiah Siaty.

Reading his story brought me flashbacks of my own when in 1990 we fled our home, our city in the middle of the night and had to walk until near afternoon the next day. I vividly remember the moon being so bright that we didn’t need flashlights and I remember getting tired as a six-year old kid and a family friend carrying me on his shoulders every mile or so. My dad didn’t come with us – he stayed behind to protect our home and hotel. Luckily, he survived the slaughtering all around him, but not the looting of our home and hotel by the militia.

In fact, I only have two pictures from my childhood and everything else were looted. I wonder if someone is keeping our family pictures, which were plenty, as a memento? I would never forget that night in 1990. And I really hope these kids succeed despite the odds that are stacked against them.

I also hope the author of this article gets recognized for his amazing work.

P.S. Go Fugees!
Refugees Find Hostility and Hope on Soccer Field – New York Times

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Refugees Find Hostility and Hope on Soccer Field – New York Times

  1. Aya

    Excellent story! Sorry to hear about your childhood photos. It must’ve been tough for your father to see the carnage. I remember our run from Somalia as well, but we were lucky and able to take over 75% of our pictures. It all seems like a lifetime ago.

  2. wasmaniac

    What the hell is wrong with the mayor?!…The least he should do is support the kids but he seems to lead opposition to them. I just cant understand some people.

  3. Sam

    That was one well-written article; certainly praise worthy and hope someone recognizes their work. I admire Ms. Luma’s altruistic efforts and how she went out of her way to elp those families settle in; the world needs more people like her to balance it out.

  4. Om

    Aya,

    I appreciate it, but your right it does seem like a lifetime ago, but the memory is very vivid to me. And I’m sure a lot of nomads are like that. To some degree, I think we are the lost generation of Somalia.

    Wasmaniac,

    I think you have a lot to learn about American history – the mayor is a Southern bigot, and most Southerners in small cities are unapologetic bigots. They pride themselves in being hateful people.

    Sam,

    I couldn’t agree more, but you know you can help those kids and their families, which include a lot of Somali families as well, by donating to the Fugees Family’s various programs at their website http://www.fugeesfamily.org/programs.html
    It only takes one person to make a change and we all do something to help them out. I wish I lived around ATL; I would definitely had volunteered.

  5. Nomad

    That’s amazing, it’s nice to see that children who’ve experienced so much sorrow can overcome it with soccer. There are many youth from war torn countries who resolve to criminality when they arrive to the west, because there are no one that can help them with their problems or they don’t have any support.

    Soccer will not only help them overcome traumatic experiences, it will keep them in shape, help them form a social network and keep them off criminality. Awesome article bro, thanks for sharing.

    By the guys, check this out: http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/544365865

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

