A belated Nod


I was so busy yesterday that it slipped my mind that it was International Women’s Day. So here’s my belated nod for Women’s Day. Although women are still way behind than men; however, I’m encouraged by the progress of women in the last six years, especially in Africa. Few women I can remember of the top of my head include, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf (President of Liberia), Dr. Wangari Mathai (Nobel Peace Prize winner – Kenya), and U.N. Deputy-Secretary General Dr. Asha-Rose Migiro (former Foreign Minister of Tanzania). Keep up the good work, ladies, and we’re very proud of you!

Anyway, I plan to attend couple of symposiums held on campus, and hopefully learn something important. Long live our mothers, sisters, wives, aunties…

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A belated Nod

  1. Aya

    Hear, hear! Nice of you to log this tribute, Om. I couldn’t do anything today (I usually do something) but I sent my mom a message thanking her for being such a model of strenght for my sister and me.

  2. wasmaniac

    The only sad thing is that though women have really progressed in the past years, the stereotypes and traditional roles that have hampered their progress over the years still exist in somalia and among somalis elsewhere.

  3. Om

    Aya,

    This is the only thing I can do, so keep making us proud:)

    Wasmaniac,

    Couldn’t agree more, but thanks to the diaspora, Somali women are getting good education, and eventually that’s where Somali women will see real progress.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

