Losing a Friend


A week ago I found out that a high school classmate of mine died after nearly 3 weeks of his death. I feel guilty I didn’t find out earlier, didn’t attend his janaza, and his burial. How can I not find out a classmate of mine’s death when we live in the same damn city? Even more disappointing: He died on the same road that I take to school every day. I took that road on July 3rd and July 5th. Firas Shaikh died on the night of July 4th after his older brother lost the control of the car they were driving due to speeding. I do not know why he (Firas was a passenger and I don’t know if he was/wasn’t wearing seatbelt but one of them was wearing seatbelt) had to speed on this godforsaken road. I know this because I have been using it for the past 4-5 months as my primary route to school. It is very narrow, hilly, with lots of trees/bushes on both sides of the road. The speed limit is 45mph. On July 5th I went to school as usual. I didn’t notice any thing different.

Firas was pronounced dead on the scene. He was only 17. His older brother who was driving the car was appearantly thrown out of the car and survived, albeit with many broken bones and a lifetime guilty feeling of causing his little brother’s death. Firas was a sweet and kind kid. I don’t remember him fighting or even arguing with anyone ever.We used to have lunches together and afterward horseplay in front of the library. We attended MSA meetings together.We sometimes teased him since he was the youngest but he always smiled and enjoyed our company. He sometimes asked me about Islam and I tired to tell him what I knew. I didn’t know him intimately but I knew he was a sweet and kind kid and considered him to be a good friend. The last time I saw him he was working at his parents’ store – the same store that my mom shops all the time. My mom sent me there to buy her a phone card to call overseas. We talked for awhile, asked him about school and everything. I just didn’t know at the time that was going to be our last meeting. I was looking forward to have him and the rest of the gang at college. But Allah had a different plan and I ask Allah to have mercy on his soul. Amin.

Firas please forgive me for not coming to your janazah and funeral. I’m sure you understand.

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Losing a Friend

  1. Aya

    Om, how devastating! I am so sorry to hear about the poor young guy’s death. I pray to God that he fares better in heaven than he did on earth. He certainly didn’t live long enough to have notable sins from your description of him. May his soul find peace. And don’t beat yourself up over it, we tend to have mercifully hasty funerals and burials

  2. Anonymous

    INnaa lillaah o Innaa ilahay raji’on.
    may allah bless your frineds soul. i pray to god he freas would be smillling now in heaven, as he did when he was arouudn you. am sure it’s tuf time for you bro, samir iyo iimaan allaah kaa siiyo.

  3. Om

    Insha’Allah, Aya. I also hope the same thing for him. He was really a sweet kid, no exaggeration. I just feel awful I didn’t attend his janazah. And you’re right, they did the burial pretty quick; I think the next day. This same situation occurred last year w/ two Muslim brothers who attended my college. Unfortunately they both died then. It is some sort of epidemic but I hope not.

    Aamin, anonymous, and thank you for your prayer. I’m sure it is more tough for his family. Of all the kids I went to school w/, he was the quietest, most polite, and sweetest. He used to lookup to me as an elder and always respected me greatly. I ask Allah to have mercy on his soul, and all the Muslims everywhere in the world.

  4. a camel herder's daughter

    Inna lillahi wa inna illayhi rajioun.

    For the true believers, the pass between earth and eternity is filled with joy and happiness, may he be among those whose life was happiness and afterlife is blessed.

  5. anony

    you know, its really wrong for you to say “why did his brother have to speed on this road?” and that HE caused his death…because if you knew anything about Islam, you would understand that Allah had willed for Firas to die at that time. take the time to consider how his brother felt/feels. I knew the both of them as well, and it was a shock to our entire community, so instead of you judging his brother and the situation – which obviously you don’t first hand what happened, so you have no right to judge, just say inna li lahi wa inna ilayhi raji3oon and pray for Firas AND his brother. EVERYTHING happens for a reason. Only Allah has the power to bring upon life and death.

    Allah yerhamo.

  6. Om

    “you know, its really wrong for you to say “why did his brother have to speed on this road?” and that HE caused his death…because if you knew anything about Islam, you would understand that Allah had willed for Firas to die at that time. take the time to consider how his brother felt/feels. I knew the both of them as well, and it was a shock to our entire community, so instead of you judging his brother and the situation – which obviously you don’t first hand what happened, so you have no right to judge”

    Are you serious? How did you come to the conclusion of me blaming Fuad about the accident? How did you come to conclusion of me blaming Firas’ death on Fuad? How did you come to the conclusion of me judging Fuad? Are you serious? I can’t believe what you’ve written after you’ve read my eulogy to Firas! This is unbelievable! Please reread it again and point it where I’m blaming and judging Fuad. Please reread it and tell me where I show lack of understanding Islam regarding death. I’m beyond furious because your accusation is nothing short of stabbing in the heart. For your info, I know Fuad as well and I see him almost everyday. I’m shocked that your accusing me something so horrible despite reading what I’ve written. My God, this is crazy! But what comforts me is the fact that Allah knows what is in my heart and Fuad knows that. Shame on you. Shame on you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

