It’s About Time

Lately I’ve been itching for some “art house” cinema and today I found my film: My Best Friend, a French dramedy about a middle-aged Parisian art dealer who doesn’t have friends playing in my neighborhood independent theater. French cinema isn’t for everyone but I always love their unhappy or ambiguous endings that many people simply can’t handle. I’m keeping my fingers crossed this film will have a happy ending – though most likely it won’t.

Until then,
Au revoir my friends

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “It’s About Time

  1. Aya

    An excellent movie, Om! I love French movies. If you haven’t done so already, try Le Dîner de Cons from 1998. I think it is translated as the Dinner Game.

    Do you like Spanish movies? If so and you haven’t seem them already, check out Volver and Y Tu Mamá También.

  2. Om

    Oh, so you’ve already seen “My Best Friend”, Aya? I’m keenly looking forward to see it in about 3 hrs. I’m gonna add Le Dîner de Cons to my Netflix queue.

    I can’t tell you enough Aya how much I love Spanish films, especially from Spain, Mexico, and Argentina. I’ve seen both Volver and Y Tu Mama Tambien which I loved both – more so for Volver. Any Pedro Almodovor film is always a treasure. You should see Amores Perros and Nine Queens (from Argentina) if you haven’t seen it. They’re mesmerizing really.

  3. Aya

    Om, I did and loved it. I cannot get enough of Latin American movies, haven’ really missed an Almodovor one since Todo Sobre Mi Madre. I loved Amores Perros but look forward to getting Nine Queens. See if you can get Lucía Y El Sexo if you haven’t already.

    For the past 3 or 4 years, I’ve developed a love for Italian movies as well. Non Ti Muovere is one of my favs., so is La Stanza del Figlio.

    The movies make it so difficult to watch the mulch that comes out of H’wood.

  4. Om

    I saw it last night and absolutely loved it! I think this is one of the first French film I’ve seen that has a happy ending…lol..oops! I hope I didn’t ruin it for anyone. But it was really refreshing film.

    You know, I’ve had Lucia Y El Sexo sitting in queue for at least a year n half! The reviews kept saying it’s very graphic, explicit…so on, so I just kind put it aside but I’ll certainly check it out AFTER Ramadan. For some reason, I haven’t had a chance to watch Italian films yet although The Snow and The Tiger has been sitting in my queue for about 4 months…I think I’m bound to love Italian cinema if I start w/ Roberto Benigni, but don’t get me started w/ Hollywood, Aya! It’s shame.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

