World Refugee Day

Sometimes we’re so busy that we forget who we are and where we come from -the essentials that make us who we are. By all indication today seemed just another day for me – until I learned just few minutes ago that today, June 20th, is World Refugee Day. How can I forget who I am? How can I forget the millions of people who have been forced to become refugees. Sometimes we humans forget who we are if we stay a place for too long.

I will always feel refugee until the day I can go back to where I’ve come from without fearing anyone. Yet I know I’m one of the very few lucky ones who have gotten a second chance on life. But it’d be irresponsible for those of us who have gotten a chance to forget those unfortunate ones. At least we can remember them in thoughts, if we cannot help.

Categories: Reality Check | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “World Refugee Day

  1. cigaal

    danke, takk, thanks, mahadsanid, shukran, asante, erokamano. the last one is luo, it may turn out to be an asset in the future.

  2. Amen! And what a second chance have we all been given. It is so easy to take all these opportunities and peace for granted.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

