My Journey Into Somalia

Lately, I have been exposed to so much of the Somali culture. I feel as if I have taken a summer vacation to the lovely land of Somalia. I owe much of this to the people who traveled so far away from their homeland, yet they retain and preserve their culture. And regardless of  the hardships felt in the past, they so generously and proudly welcome others to learn about their culture.   

Well, my journey kicked off with the mesmerizing sound of Somali music and the ”   ” dancing. I loved the music which is somewhat similar to our Sudanese music, but I have to admit that the dance was and still is a serious challenge for me. Yet it wouldn’t have caught my interest if it was easy. I guess I don’t mind a good challenge. Then I was introduced to the language when I visited my Somali girl-friend. It was a real treat hearing her speak with her family and particularly her mom. I think there is a soft/easy tone in their speech or it might be my own imagination because I have been used to Sudanese speak so loudly hehe. Anyways, I was eager to understand what they were saying, it still a mystery to me. After that same day, I was also enchanted by the way my friend prepared tea. It is similar to the way Sudanese make their tea, but there is more herbs added. I have just fallen love with it since then. What I found really interesting is that, Somali could drink tea with milk in the afternoon and that is almost a taboo in Sudanese culture. Sudanese could only drink milk in the morning or after sunset. It’s weird I know…

To be continued 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “My Journey Into Somalia

  1. Om

    I’m actually learning this too! Since I only have faint memory of Somali dancing at the only wedding ceremony I’ve been to, I’m quite curious to know how it is different from today’s dancing~ Get back to us on that one, won’t you!

    PS: I have a hard time understanding the taboo of milk and tea in the afternoon. Could you explain, perhaps in another post*, how that taboo came about?

  2. hmalik

    Well since I have only learned the dance recently, I would be sure if its different than before. You could just attend one more wedding ceremony to see. Interesting thing, I didn’t see men dances yet. Do you know if there is some traditional dances that is preformed by men?

    About the tea, I don’t know how this came about. Its been like this for ages. Sudanese don’t eat early morning, but just drink tea with milk and some baked sweets that is similar to donuts. Then we drink “red” tea after breakfast which is around eleven, another cup of tea after lunch which is exactly at three in the afternoon. Later we drink tea with milk after sunset and that off course after Mugrib prayer. I know, too much tea.

  3. Somali dancing is beyond delightful, I am finding, although difficult to learn, Om.

  4. dowlo

    I love my wife (F. Birimo) but she won’t stay away from leaner sudenesemen, I have tried many counselling but failed. Any advice?

  5. @dowlo lol, sorry mate. Life sucks sometimes!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

